Fred W. Smith

Since 1992, Fred W. Smith has been the chairman of the board of trustees of the Donald W. Reynolds Foundation. The Foundation has long been a generous supporter of UAMS and its four-fold mission-to teach, to heal, to search and to serve.

Mr. Smith was born in 1934 in Arkoma, Okla., just across the state line from Fort Smith, Arkansas. He attended Westark Community College, now the University of Arkansas at Fort Smith. His career in communications began in 1951, when he accepted a position as an advertising salesman for the Southwest Times-Record in Fort Smith. He worked his way up through the ranks to become assistant general manager of the newspaper and then moved to Las Vegas in 1961 to serve as vice president and general manager of the Las Vegas Review-Journal. He became vice president for the western division of the Donrey Media Group in 1966. He was named executive vice president of the Donrey Media Group in 1973, and president and chief operating officer in 1987.

During his career, Mr. Smith worked for 43 years with Donald W. Reynolds, the founder of the Donrey Media Group, and together they planned and implemented the company’s development. Under Mr. Smith’s direction, Donrey owned and operated daily newspapers, cable companies, outdoor billboard companies, television and radio stations in more than 23 states.

Today, the Donald W. Reynolds Foundation is one of the largest in the nation. Under Mr. Smith’s leadership, it has awarded more than $850 million in grants in less than 10 years, including more than $220 million in Arkansas and more than $50 million to the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences.

Mr. Smith has been honored several times in recognition of his remarkable accomplishments and generosity. He was named the “Distinguished Nevadan of the Year” by the University of Nevada System Board of Regents in 1989. He is also the recipient of various honorary degrees, including a Doctor of Humane Letters from the University of Nevada System Board of Regents in 1993; an Associate of Humane Letters from the University of Oklahoma, Okmulgee, in 1998; a Doctor of Laws from Harding University in Searcy, in 1998; and a Doctor of Arts and Humane Letters from the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville in 2003.